3CFCA announces All-State, All-Region softball teams

3CFCA announces All-State, All-Region softball teams

2017 3CFCA Postseason awards list

GLENDORA, Calif. - The California Community College Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced it’s 2017 post-season awards. Antelope Valley College’s Paige Johnson and College of San Mateo’s Gaby Zucchiatti have been named the State Players of the Year, while Cypress College’s Destiny Vasquez and Ohlone College’s Nalani Scates were named the State Pitchers of the Year. Rounding out the awards were Cypress Head Coach Brad Pickler and San Joaquin Delta College Head Coach Jim Fisher who were named the State Coaches of the Year.

Johnson fashioned one of the finest offensive campaigns in recent memory when she hit .565, with 91 RBIs, 21 home runs, and a 1.226 slugging percentage. She led the entire State in home runs and RBIs, was second in slugging and fourth in batting average. Her 91 RBIs is also tied the State record for most RBIs in a single season, matching the output of West Valley College’s Justine Kunkel in 2006. Zucchiatti was no slouch either hitting .547, with 53 RBIs, 47 runs, 14 doubles, and eight home runs. She finished 6th in the State in average, 6th in the State in RBIs, and 19th in the State in doubles.  

Vasquez went an impressive 23-0 in the circle, with a 1.20 ERA, and 118 punch outs in 134.2 innings of work. She ranked fourth in the State in wins and fourth in the State in ERA. Scates meanwhile was 23-2, with an a 1.07 ERA, and 303 strikeouts on the season. She led the State in strikeouts, K’s per 7 (9.28), was third in ERA, and fourth in wins. Her 303 strikeouts in a single season are 14th most all-time in the State

Pickler earned the State Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season. The legendary Head Coach eclipsed the 1,300 win mark this season after leading the Chargers to a perfect 40-0 season, Orange Empire Conference championship, and #1 overall seed in Southern California. Fisher helped guide the Mustangs to a 34-5 mark, Big 8 Conference title, and the #2 overall seed in Northern California.

(Andrew Wheeler, Citrus College)


2017 3CFCA
Post-Season Awards
Players of the Year
Paige Johnson, Antelope Valley Gaby Zucchiatti, San Mateo
Pitchers of the Year
Destiny Vasquez, Cypress Nalani Scates, Ohlone
Coach of the Year
Brad Pickler, Cypress College Jim Fisher, San Joaquin Delta College
Tiffany Kennedy-Cummings, Mt. San Antonio Kaylee Buhrkuhl, San Joaquin Delta 
Morgan Arndt, Antelope Valley Jamie Sugimoto, Cabrillo
Crystal DesLauriers, Palomar Mia Torres, Lassen
Bailey Killough, Allan Hancock Tiana Cantero-Kawelo, Taft
Haley Reed, El Camino Peyton Rose, San Joaquin Delta
Sydney McCollum, Cypress Sally Bowles, Monterey
Taylor Jaurique, Mt. San Antonio Brianna Lopez, Merced
Maritza Rojas, Imperial Valley Emily Mitchell, Feather River
Alyssa Wing, El Camino Emily Hicks, Yuba
Brittany Perez, Ventura Chelsea Martinez, Cosumnes River
Jade Nua, Citrus Meagan Wells, San Mateo
Brienna Dunckel, Palomar Rylie Carlier, Sierra
Emili Olague, Santiago Canyon Courtney Beatty, Cosumnes River
Dolly Stevens, Antelope Valley Sharona Mataele, Foothill
Raelani Camez, El Camino Haylee Nunes, San Joaquin Delta
Melanie Okazaki, Cypress Vanessa Contreras, San Joaquin Delta
Vanessa Ledesma, Cypress Serena Castaneda, Monterey 
Manoa Weijgertise, Santiago Canyon Allie Stines, San Mateo
  Victoria Pierucci, Foothill
Danielle Chatman, Canyons Kaone Hunter, Sierra
Racqual Espinoza, Mt. San Antonio Isabel Gonzalez-Velarde, Ohlone 
Kylee Brown, Cerritos McKenna Anderson, Sierra
Toni Mendoza, Mt. San Antonio Kaly Alik, Siskiyous
Yasmine Jameson, Southwestern Lauren Salvati, Monterey
Kasey Hutton, Santa Ana Kaddy Pizano, San Jose
Valerie Dorantes, Antelope Valley Rachel Tadlock, Sierra
Alexis Zavala, Cypress Amanda Coley, Chabot
Bree Maikai, Mt. San Antonio Harllee Noda, Hartnell
Tiare PaoPao, Palomar Kaitlyn Doyle, Hartnell
Kayla Sok, Mt. San Antonio Kaitlin Shipman, Hartnell
Nicole Correia, Southwestern Taylor Fratto, Sacramento City
Alissa Cienfuegos, Long Beach Courtney Christensen, Redwoods
Moriah Lopez, Palomar Maddy Forester, Fresno
Heidi Ludy, Canyons Shyann Ubedei, Redwoods
Brigid Antonelli, El Camino Elizabeth Cuevas, Merced
Sierra Huerta, Moorpark Marta Mitchell, Merced